The great Master Adi Sankaracharya propounded the Advaita School of philosophy and established monasteries based on the same. Later, Sri Ramasubba Dikshithar of Thiruvisanallur, in his interpretation of Adi Shankara’s teachings concludes that Adi Sankara is a Vishnu bhaktha beyond par. However, the great Mahatma Appaiya Dikshithar gave a different interpretation to Adi Sankara’s works and formulated the school of philosophy known as ‘Shivadwaitha’.
Sri Ramanujacharya described ‘Visihishtadvaita’ philosophy which took a different standpoint when compared to Adi Sankara’s Advaita. After Sri Ramanujacharya, Vaishnavism was divided into 2 major sects namely, Vadakala sect formed by Sri Vedanta Desika and Thenkala sect, formed by Sri Manavala Maamunigal, both of which differed conceptually. The Vadakala sect further got divided into Ahobila mutt and Aandavan Ashram.

Sri Madhwacharya later established another school of philosophy known as Dvaita which differed from Advaita and Visishtadvaita. This was later divided into Vyasaraya mutt and Uttharadhi mutt. If we take the examples of other religions such as Christianity, Islam or Buddhism such divisions into sub-sects has happened over a period of time.

If we take governing principles, we find many types such as democracy, dictatorship, socialism and communism. In medicine, we have many systems such as allopathy, ayurveda, homoeopathy, so on and so forth. This is applicable everywhere and holds good for everything. It brings us to the conclusion that diversity is inevitable. Though uniformity is impossible, unity is possible.

Leave a Comment

Namadwaar Calendar

< May 2024 >
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31